The Duke-UNC Rotary Peace Center was the first center to create a governing board to help oversee the operations of the program.  The quarterly board meetings and twice-annual retreats have been instrumental in the ongoing success of the Center and the development of the Peace Fellows.


The Board is comprised of the following members:

  • Jonathan Abels, Executive Director, Duke Center for International Development
  • Carol Allen, Cary MacGregor Rotary Club, PDG District 7710
  • Susan Carroll, Managing Director, Duke-UNC Rotary Peace Center
  • Bart Cleary, Oxford Rotary Club, PDG District 7710 and current Host Area Coordinator
  • Francis Lethem, Professor of the Practice Emeritus in the Sanford School of Public Policy
  • James Peacock, Professor Emeritus of Anthropology, University of North Carolina
  • Niklaus Steiner, Director, UNC Center for Global Initiatives
  • Catherine Admay, Lecturer of Public Policy Studies at Duke
  • Peggy Bentley, Associate Dean for Global Health and Associate Director, Institute for Global Health & Infectious Disease at UNC
  • Carmen Strigel, Director, ICT for Education and Training, RTI International & Class 1 Alumna


In addition to these members, each cohort elects a student representative.  The student representatives meet with the board twice a year to share the perspective of their cohort of Rotary Peace Fellows.

Follow this website