Skip to main content


The Duke-UNC Rotary Peace Center was the first center to create a governing board to help oversee the operations of the program. The quarterly board meetings and annual retreats have been instrumental in the ongoing success of the Center and the development of the Fellows.

In addition to these members, each cohort elects a student representative. The student representatives meet with the board twice a year to share the perspective of their cohort of Rotary Peace Fellows.

The Board is comprised of the following members:


Jonathan Abels

Executive Director, Duke Center for International Development


Catherine Adcock Admay, JD

Faculty Director, Duke University


Carol Allen

Cary MacGregor Rotary Club, PDG District 7710


Susan Carroll

Managing Director


Karina Ito

Chief of Staff of the Standing Group of National Committees, UNICEF & Class 8 Alumna


Thomas Lasater

Program Coordinator


Francis Lethem

Professor of the Practice Emeritus in the Sanford School of Public Policy


Randy Lickey

Rotary Host Area Coordinator for the Center and member of the Rotary Club of the Capital City, Raleigh NC, District 7710


Suzanne Maman

Faculty Director, UNC-Chapel Hill


Jim Peacock

Professor Emeritus of Anthropology, University of North Carolina


Muyatwa Sitali

Head of Country Engagement, Sanitation and Water for All Secretariat hosted by UNICEF & Class 11 Alumnus


Sharon Thomas

Assistant Dean, Recruitment, Admissions & Financial Aid, UNC Chapel Hill School of Social Work


We maintain an office on each campus. Please see below for the contact information for staff members and both offices.

We, the Duke-UNC Rotary Peace Center, welcome students of every nationality, religion, race, gender identity, sexual orientation and physical ability. We pledge to create a community that is welcoming to all, grounded in mutual respect and understanding, with the goal of advancing knowledge and the practice of peace building. We are a center comprised of three equal partners whose collective purpose is the pursuit of knowledge, practice and service through the diversity of ideas, actions and people. The Duke-UNC Rotary Peace Center stands unified behind our core values. We welcome you to our community and are encouraged by what we, together, can build.